Fossil Hunting Sites Fossil Hunting Sites

RIchmond - Free Fossicking SitesAlthough you will never quite get over the infectious desire to make that ultimate discovery, you can satisfy your FOSSIL FEVER by taking the short 12km drive to Richmond's Fossil Hunting Area. By turning a few stones over, you may uncover a 100 Million year old fossil fish, squid, sharks tooth, bivalve or marine reptile.

But it doesn't stop there. Kronosaurus Korner offers multiple Professional Digs annually, also providing you the opportunity to extend your knowledge of our Prehistoric Pals in Preparation Workshops within Kronosaurus Korner's fully equipped Laboratory.

 

Lake Fred Tritton Lake Fred Tritton

Image of Lake Fred Tritton, RichmondInteresting Facts

• Approximately 1.2km around (circumference)

• Water capacity is approximately 314 mega litres

• Construction of Lake Fred Tritton began November 2002, completed in February 2003

• Named after the late Fred Tritton, former Mayor of Richmond and local grazier

• Official opening May 2004

In 2004, Lake Fred Tritton won both the State and National Heart Foundation Awards for offering a better quality of life for people living in rural communities. The lake has provided locals and visitors the opportunity to participate in water sports such as fishing, skiing, canoeing and jet skiing.

Lake Fred Tritton boasts sandy beaches, shaded playground facilities, Water Park, paved walking track, free BBQ facilities and clean amenities.

The lake is stocked with over 18 species of fish by the Richmond Fish Stocking Association. Species include red claw yabbies, barramundi, sooty grunter, sleepy cod, archer fish, forktail catfish, gulf grunter and many more.

An Annual Fishing Competition is held at the Lake. Enquire at Kronosaurus Korner for more details. Bird watching is a very popular activity at Lake Fred Tritton. 

 Lake Fred Tritton's Fishing Information (1.03MB)

Bush Tucker Garden Bush Tucker Garden

 Richmond - Bush Tucker GardenThe Bush Tucker Garden is situated on the banks of the Lake Fred Tritton. It was created as a joint project involving the Richmond Shire Council, the CDEP (Community Development Employment Program) and the local community.

All plants are native to the region and are labelled with their traditional purposes, helping to promote the educational aspects of indigenous culture.

Gidgee stones and Moonrocks extracted from the local properties complete the garden, showcasing the uniqueness of the region's landscape and prehistoric past.

The Bush Tucker Garden was a finalist in the Indigenous Category at the 2008 Banksia Environmental Awards.

Bush Tucker Garden Funding Partners

Richmond Shire Council, Richmond Community, Australian Government Envirofund, Middle Park Traditional Owners, Wanamara Resource & Cultural Centre & Corbett & Beris Tritton

Bush Tucker Gardens Plant List (584KB)

Historical Walk Historical Walk

If stepping back in time is more your scene, then take a stroll down our Historical Walk.  The best way to learn about previous culture and tradition is to set off and take a walk through history.

The Historical Walk begins at the Caravan Park and continues the full lenght of Goldring Street. Visit the sites of Cordial Factory, Newspaper Printers and Open Air Theatre.

 

The newest addition to the Historical Walk is the Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre. 

 

Richmond Historical Walk Map (922KB)

Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre

Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre ImageStep back in time and discover the story of Richmond and the surrounding area over the past 150 years. The much anticipated Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre was officially opened on 23rd May 2009. 

Built from local flagstone rock the Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre is a replica of the original Cambridge Downs Homestead built in the late 1860's. 
 
The Richmond Shire Council are conscious that the historical and cultural background of our unique history was in danger of being lost in a rapidly changing world and the replica will provide a location for the display of local records and artifacts. It is hoped that the Centre will grow as residents; both past and present offer other exhibits.
 
The Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre Gardens have been created using the following herbs and roses:English tea roses x 20, Lawn Chamomile x 150, Lavender x 30, Climbing black boy rose x 2, White Jasmine x 2, Mandarin Tree, Rosemary x 10, Garlic Chives x 20, Thyme x 10, Oregano x 10, Basil x 10, Nasturtium x 10, Evening Primrose x 5 & Chives x 20

Cambridge Ruin Cambridge Ruin

Cmabridge Ruin, Richmond40km from Richmond, along the Croydon Road, Cambridge Crossing is an intersection of road with the Stawell River.  To the left and just before this crossing, are the ruins that remind us of the history attached to the Cambridge Downs homestead.

 
 In the Mid 1860's this original building was a fine example of the architectural resourcefulness of the Western Pioneers, and here sprang a busy rural outpost where man and beast carved out a new frontier.
 
These crude building blocks, gathered from the surrounding Downs, made an Australian Frontier version of the Englishman's castle. There was military significance to this flagstone structure with a thatched roof, stone walls that would not be easily breached and the windows had iron bars to help defend against Aboriginal attacks. The sitting of the homestead, well out on a clear flat 300 meters away from the wooded Cambridge Creek, is supporting evidence of the Pioneer's defense strategy. 

The main building was linked by a passageway to a store room and office. The cookhouse with a big clay oven was out the back. Lawns, citrus trees and grape vines flourished. There were several other buildings; these included a Jackaroo's quarters (with their own cook and housemaid), Ringers quarters, a Butcher shop with two full time Butchers and a Blacksmith Shop.
 
The Cambridge Downs shearing shed, 3km in the distance was known as the biggest and best equipped Shed in the District with 26 stands. A wood fired mobile steam engine powered the old Cambridge plant. Up to 80 men camped in a string of tents along the bore drain. The shearing shed burnt down twice, as did the Cambridge men's quarters.

Richmond War Memorial Richmond War Memorial

Richmond War Memorial The Richmond War Memorial is located at the Jack Browns Lion on the Flinders Highway. The Richmond War Memorial is a unique design, replacing previous Memorial fountain, as the main memorial in Richmond. Symbolising a stylisation of three rifles marking the graves of three ANZAC soldiers who lost their lives at the battle fo the Somme, France in the Great War. Original wooden crosses on the battlefields were made from artillery shell and ammunition boxes. To signify this fact , the centre of the memorial constitutes a steel cross, that extends beyond the uprights. Dedicated on the 25th April 2001. 

The memorial holds Rolls of Honour for individuals from the Richmond region who served and died in wars. Additionally, there is space for smaller individual remembrance plaques to Veterans. There are tri-service and additional badges to respresent all the forces on the three struts.

 
Conflicts commemorated: South Africa War, 1899-1902,First World War, 1914-1918,Second World War, 1939-1945,Malayan Emergency, 1948-1960,Korean War, 1950-1953,Indonesian Confrontation 1962-66 &Vietnam War, 1962-1972
 
The Jack Brown Lions Park also contains a number of guns and war trophies that have been preserved to complement the main memorial.

Pioneer Cemetry Pioneer Cemetry

Richmond Pioneer Cemetery is located off the Flinders Highway on the western side of town, immediately after crossing the railway line. The Richmond Pioneer Cemetery displays inscriptions dating from 1886 to 1921. Unfortunately, only about 30 or so headstones remain from around 300 burials. In some cases the broken segments have been reassembled and laid flat, in others they have been repaired and remounted.  

 
However, exhibited on the site are panels listing all known burials at this location. We found a few variations between the data posted, the headstone inscriptions and the Queensland deaths register, but this is to be expected in the transcription of old handwritten records.

The cemetery is fenced on three sides and maintained by Richmond Shire Council.
 
Alist all inscriptions for this cemetery can be viewed by clicking on the link below. This list was compiled withreference to the Queensland indices of births, deaths and marriages.